Skip To Main Content

Lincoln Elementary School History

The first school that stood on the site of the current Lincoln Elementary was called “East Side School” and was built in 1886. It was a four room frame structure that was built for the village of South Evanston. In 1893 after South Evanston became part of the City of Evanston, the school board decided to erect a new building, which was completed in 1896. Children attending the school at the time were polled and decided on the name Lincoln, after Abraham Lincoln, Illinois State Legislator and President of the United States from 1861 until his assassination in 1865.  (Main Street, on Lincoln School’s south border, was called Lincoln Avenue until South Evanston became part of the City of Evanston). The current school is the third building. It was built in 1968 when the 1896 stone structure was torn down, and renovated in 2012.

The Warren Cherry Memorial Tree on the grounds of Lincoln School honors Warren “Billy” Cherry, a beloved District 65 educator who was principal of Lincoln School from 1979 until his untimely death in 1991.

Lincoln historical photo

The 1896 Lincoln School Building. Photo: Evanston History Center archive

Lincoln Sun Times 1947

Unidentified newspaper, February 2, 1947

The D65 School History project is the result of a partnership with Evanston History Center. This research was completed by the Evanston History Center.

This information is intended to recognize the unique history of District 65 schools. Please note that this is not a comprehensive record.

School History

Interested in the history of other District 65 schools?

Haven Middle School was initially built to serve students from two school districts.

The predecessor to Park School was established in 1949 by a group of parents.